drawing experiment at the hamburger stand

I’m experimenting with colour a bit more lately. Not sure I like this one that much though but I guess that’s the risk with trying something new. The drawing itself wasn’t easy to draw and it didn’t flow like they usually do but it serves as a good test for some experimentation.

The process I use is pretty simple. Draw some stuff with pen on paper (try not to think about it too much) and then scan the piece at 600dpi. Use photoshop to add the background texture and the colour. I mess around for a while until it looks good. I also have started using adjustment layers which give a washed out, retro kind of effect to the overall piece. Like most photoshop filters they are pretty horrible if used a full strength. I just want a slight retro feel so I use them subtly.

2 thoughts on “drawing experiment at the hamburger stand

Leave a Reply

