Drawing 365/365 – stop

Woohoo! That’s it, we are done and dusted! 365 drawings in 365 days. Fuck yeah!

It’s such a relief to finally finish this challenge. I didn’t really think I was going to make it to tell the truth. There were times when I was behind by, lets say, a shitload and I just thought it would be easier to stop, but I’m not one for giving up and I hate loose ends so here we are at the finish. As much as I’m happy to see the back of this I’m also a little sad. I really enjoyed drawing so much and pushing myself to do it but at the same time I’m not going to miss the pressure.

This exercise has been bitter-sweet. Completing the challenge is awesome, my drawing style has evolved and I’ve found a new creative direction. But the challenge itself is sort of a curse. It was always in the back of my mind that I had to draw each day and it kinda plagued me. I was always thinking “when can I sneak a drawing in? before breakfast? Yeah I’ll try that. If I get up early I can spend half an hour in the morning.” Who was I kidding? So I’d then try to do one at lunch or later that night but it never worked and then I’d feel bad for not drawing that day. It was kind of like a series of small failures each time I’d miss a day or two. But I guess moving on and finishing is the most important thing.

It doesn’t sound that hard to do a drawing every day right? Actually it’s not. What’s hard is putting some effort into it and creating something interesting each time. I think I found it hardest when other things took precedence like travelling or moving house. On these occasions I just had to put the challenge aside and tell myself that I’d get back to it as soon as possible. There were also times when I just didn’t feel like drawing, I was just over it and I had to take a break.

Anyway, it’s done and I think it’s time to concentrate on something else.

So without further ado I give you the last post in the 365 series.

Leave a Reply

