Bryce’s drawing

I’m always amazed by some of the things that my nephews draw. They are big into video games, military, history and anything that involves action and blowing things up : )

They generally draw stuff along these lines but that’s not what interests me. What I find interesting is how they see the world around them and how they express that on paper. I’ve noticed a few things that I would really love to bring to my drawings…

1. They are not able to recreate exactly whatever they have seen on tv or in books, but that doesn’t matter, they use their imagination to fill in the blanks. As a result their drawings become abstract and sometimes minimalist, needing explanation in order for us grownups to understand what’s going on.

2. They draw mostly without judgement of their work. They don’t compare it against anyone else’s work or try to live up to a standard. They just create. Although, in saying this, it’s interesting to see that Bryce has crossed out the middle and bottom drawings. I guess these were not up to scratch. I remember him saying to me that he didn’t like any of them and wanted to throw the piece of paper in the bin. So, maybe I’m wrong in this assumption but it would be nice to take some of that judgement out of my work.

3. They draw without preconceived rules. They start in the middle of the page and work down, they draw outside the lines, they use colours and shapes that I would never think of using. I think this is what makes their drawings so appealing – the randomness and non structure, like life I guess.

Leave a Reply

